Brynn: 7 months

Hope everyone had a great time over the holidays! We have been enjoying this ridiculously mild weather and have been spending a ton of time outside over the break. A holiday recap is coming, but for now, Brynn is 7 months old!

7 months

SLEEP: We have been in a pretty good sleep groove this month. She goes to sleep between 7 and 7:30 pm and for the most part, wakes between 6 and 7. Some nights she’ll wake up before 6, but we’ve pretty much been at one wake-up per night this whole month, and she’ll usually go back to sleep for a little bit. Napping on the other hand, has been a bit more challenging. At daycare, she is generally napping less than an hour per day. Some days, she will only take one 30 minute nap there. I’m not sure if it is the noise that distracts her there or what, but this month they’ve had a ton of trouble getting her to nap. Her teachers aren’t too worried because they just tell me that she is “too busy playing” to want to sleep. Now at home over the past few days, she has napped just fine for the most part – so I’m trying not to be too concerned. Overall, we’re pretty happy to have another good sleeper on our hands thus far *knocks on all of the wood*.

not sleeping...but cute!

not sleeping…but cute!

EATING: Brynn is still doing great with nursing and bottles. She can hold the bottle on her own now and apparently sucks down her 4 oz in like 5 minutes. My pumping amounts are still declining, but I do an extra pump before I go to bed that helps bridge the gap between what I pump and what she needs. The real problem is when I travel, but with only 5 months until she can start getting whole milk, I think we’ll be able to make it. She is also FINALLY starting to eat her solids. She is definitely a bit picky, but she’ll now eat oatmeal mixed with applesauce, plain applesauce, and sweet potato. Occasionally she’ll eat banana, but I can only get in a few spoonfuls of carrot and squash. We’re going to try peas this week and maybe pear? I also put a container of puffs in her stocking and she was able to sort of get a few in her mouth. Mainly if I hold them in my hand, she will actually pull my whole hand towards her mouth rather than grab them out. Silly girl!

eating is more fun when being held!

eating is more fun when being held!

sitting in a high chair for the first time

sitting in a high chair for the first time

LANGUAGE: I’d been feeling like Brynn was slow to verbalize, then suddenly in the past few days she has a lot to say. A lot of “dah dah dah” sounds mostly, but just generally a lot more noise coming out of her mouth. I’ve been so in love with toddler language that I forgot how cute first baby babbles are.

TEETH: I hadn’t really thought at all about her teeth coming in since she hasn’t really shown any signs, but today I noticed that both of her bottom two are poking through! They aren’t fully out but they’ve at least cracked the gum line. We’ll see if the grumpiness follows but I’m hoping that maybe we got lucky and they didn’t bother her!

GROSS MOTOR: Her sitting has gotten really strong! No more toppling over and she can sit for as long as she wants. She hasn’t really shown any desire to crawl, although she can spin in 360 degree circles with ease. She also loves to bear weight on her legs.

look at me sit!

look at me sit!

look at me stand!

look at me stand!

welp...time to give away the rock and play

welp…time to give away the rock and play

FAVORITES: Sticking everything in her mouth. Laughing with her mouth super wide open. Being held (especially by mommy). Watching everything Bella does. Spending time in the ergo.

riding in the ergo is the best!

riding in the ergo is the best!

everything in the mouth

everything in the mouth

toes are delicious!

toes are delicious!

more sister love!

loves her sister

she loves her sister!

more sister love!

With Thanksgiving and Christmas falling in this past month, time absolutely flew by. Hard to believe we are on the backside of her first year now. Can’t wait to see what excitement this next month brings.

Leave a Reply

