On blogging…

It has been almost four years since I started this blog, and for the first time, I find myself having trouble finding the motivation and desire to keep up with it. Here we are, less than a week until Brynn turns four months old, and I haven’t posted anything since she turned three months old.

Life has just felt like a whirlwind since I returned to work a little over a month ago. I’ve been swamped with work, caring for two girls, and trying to have some social time with friends and Lance. In reality, I’m only finding time to write this tonight because Lance is out at a work dinner.

I have so much to write about and now that I’ve fallen behind, I’m not even sure its possible to go back. So instead of full blog posts about everything that has happened, how about some bullet points?

  • We went to the beach. It was great. For the most part. Except that we bought a cheapo portable swing from Walmart and Brynn refused to nap in it. So instead of the 2-3 hour post-lunch nap we had been used to, we were maybe getting 45 minutes. Pop Pop spent a lot of time holding her and walking with her until she fell asleep. But Bella had a blast playing in the sand, going to the aquarium, and spending lots of time with her grandparents.
  • We potty trained. We tried the 3 Day Method. It took about 7 days. There were many, many, accidents. But now we are pretty much done. She still has occasional accidents but they are very limited. So when at the time we thought that this was the worst method ever, it did in fact work – it just took a few extra days.
  • We’re all adapting to the new normal of being a family of four. It has been hard, but overall, the girls make it pretty easy on us. The toughest part is just getting out the door in the mornings. It takes much, much longer for me to wake up, eat breakfast, get myself together, wake Brynn up, nurse her, get her dressed, wake Bella up, convince her that its time to get out of bed, get her dressed, get all of our crap into the car (its ridiculous…purse, laptop, pump, lunch, Brynn’s diaper bag, Brynn’s bottles, and usually some extra clothes for both of their cubbies…that’s 6-7 bags in the car every day!) When both of us are home in the evenings, we divide and conquer bedtime now but by the time both girls are asleep, we are usually drained!
  • I’m back to work. And thankfully, I’m enjoying work more than before maternity leave. I’ve got a lot of interesting stuff going on that has been fun and challenging, but it has also been very busy. I love my lunchtime breaks to go nurse Brynn, but its likely that things will be this busy through next August. I’m also going to be traveling a lot this fall. I’ve already been to Pittsburgh, and have upcoming trips to St. Louis, Nice, Philadelphia x2, and Las Vegas. Since I hate being away from the girls, I make the trips super short which just makes everything even more tiring.

IMG_3116

IMG_3188

IMG_6361

IMG_3176

Does that cover everything? I’ll try and get a Brynn post up for her 4th month birthday on Sunday that will update everything that has been going on with her.

I can’t really tell the direction things are going to go from here. I’m already thinking that my blogging may come to an end once Brynn turns one, so its possible there won’t be much here besides her monthly posts. It’ll all depend if the motivation returns I guess. I have really enjoyed being able to look back at everything, so maybe I’ll be able to keep it going. But if I don’t, just know that its because we are too busy having fun. Or sleeping. Yeah, probably sleeping.

One thought on “On blogging…

Leave a Reply

