36 weeks

Gosh. I can’t believe we are at this point. I had a very quick doctor’s appointment today and she had a big smile on her face congratulating me for getting to this point (this was another appointment with Dr. H., who did my emergency D&C back in July and my miscarriage follow-up appointments…so she gets it). It’s both exciting and surreal. It’s also nice to just be able to relax at this point with all worries of a pre-term birth gone!

Size of Baby: Baby is the size of a ripe papaya. She is 5 and 3/4 pounds and nearing 19 inches!

Weight: Up to +32, or another 3 lbs in the past 2 weeks. Still hoping that I can stay in the +35 range which was around what I gained with Bella. Will likely depend on how much longer I go until she arrives!

Sleep: For this late in the game, I’d say its been pretty darn good. The past few nights I’ve only woken up twice. I’ve actually been a little less tired during the days as well!

Best Moment of the Week: Watching Bella play with all of her little friends. She gets so excited running around with other kids now and it is just so sweet. My friend Jen’s 15 month old slept in the baby’s room and Bella kept wanting to break in to “see baby”. I’ve decided that its a sweet gesture as long as she doesn’t actually succeed in breaking in!

Movement:  Still lots of it, but in the past few days it seems like it has gotten a little lower. Yesterday she was kicking my liver which just hurts! Doctor said today that she still felt head down, and hopefully at this point its too late for that to change!

Symptoms: Nothing really new to report. I guess I should also start including labor signs here, but I haven’t really had any! I think I’m actually having fewer braxton hicks now than I was a few months ago! I did confirm what I thought I read at my last appointment that I was 50% effaced when I got checked at 32 weeks, so I’m taking that as a good sign!

Food Cravings/Aversions: The milkshake craving is back. Why can’t I crave healthy things?

Belly Button: It seems like it is getting flatter.

What I Miss: Being able to stand without assistance. It has gotten nearly impossible to stand up from the floor without having a helping hand or something sturdy to lean on.

What I Am Looking Forward To: The nursery is just about done! It needs a few final decorative touches and then I’m going to declare it good to go.

Leave a Reply

