Confusion

As I mentioned yesterday, for the past few days, I’ve been feeling an increasing number of braxton hicks/painless contractions. They seem to be worst in the morning and evening and I was getting numerous occasions where they were coming every five minutes.

So yesterday afternoon while sitting at work, it happened again. And then I had one that lasted seven minutes. Like my stomach just tightened up and stayed that way for seven whole minutes. I texted this to Lance, who thought this was probably worthy of heading to the hospital to get checked out.

So after sending Bella over to the neighbor’s house, I headed to L&D to get hooked up and figure out if these were all in my head. Well, the contractions definitely showed up. They were coming every 2-3 minutes. I was fully hydrated (the intern actually commented on how clearly my urine was before getting hooked up to the machine), but after they saw the regularity they decided to give me an IV and see what happened. They did one cervical check when I first arrived, which showed just fingertip dilation, and another one after the IV which also showed fingertip dilation, so even though the contractions kept coming, they sent me home.

They continued all night long. Not painful, but annoying enough to be worrisome. So I called the doctor’s office first thing this morning and asked to move my ultrasound to today. Thankfully, the ultrasound showed a long cervix (4 cm!) and the fetal fibronectin test came back negative.

This afternoon, things have spaced back out to probably every 10-15 minutes. The only thing that they can come up with that may be causing this number of contractions is that I appear to have a mild yeast infection (which I have no symptoms of…they just saw it under the microscope from the sample last night). So I’m hoping once those meds kick in maybe things will calm down.

I was really worried about this coming into this pregnancy….this uncertainty over what is going on with my body. This literally felt exactly like what I experienced with Bella that got me admitted to the hospital, only this time they aren’t shortening my cervix and the fetal fibronectin is negative. In fact, I feel like I’m actually feeling MORE contractions than I did last time.

Even though the doctor’s originally told me to come in if I had 5-6 in an hour, now that we know that they aren’t changing my cervix, I’ve basically been told to ride it out and hopefully my uterus will calm down soon. It was almost better last time when they stopped the contractions with magnesium. This time I just have to wait for my body to stop them on it’s own. It’s reassuring that everything looks normal, but I’m frustrated with my body for starting to have this many contractions this early on!

The good thing is that I already have a doctor’s appointment for Monday, so hopefully things will have calmed down by then and we can chalk it up to the yeast infection. And if not, I’ll get another person’s opinion on what could be causing them to happen with such frequency and regularity.

5 thoughts on “Confusion

  1. With my daughter I had BH contractions every five minutes from about 32 weeks on. I kept going to L & D and they kept telling me to go home. She didn’t actually arrive for real until 38 weeks. I know it’s scary, but I think you’re ok since your cervix isn’t shortening or dilating!

  2. Crossing my fingers it’s just the yeast infection and the contractions start to calm down soon. Great news that your cervix isn’t shortening or dilated, but I can imagine this is so nerve wrecking given your last experience. Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

