IUP

We have a confirmed intrauterine pregnancy.

Let me explain why I know this.

On Friday, I started having small amounts of brown discharge. I was immediately terrified since two of my miscarriages started this way. It tapered off, which was a very good sign, but combining that with my lack of symptoms and I was just extremely worried.

So I called the nurse at the RE’s office first thing this morning and she asked if I wanted to come in for an ultrasound this morning to see if things looked on track. By my count I’m 5 weeks 5 days and by their count I’m 5 weeks 3 days (which I don’t really understand…but she showed me their little wheel today which doesn’t match up with those online calculators, but I digress). Either way, I spent the next 90 minutes super nervous before heading over for the ultrasound.

Funny that I was so nervous since we’ve always seen things looking pretty good at these early scans.

Anyway, the very nice fellow took me back almost immediately and found the gestational sac super quickly. We saw the yolk sac but nothing else. She poked around measuring my ovaries (not sure why…but they were both 28 mm). The gestational sac measured 15 mm and the yolk sac was 3 mm. She was very happy with what she saw and said she saw nothing concerning and that was as much development as we should see at 5 weeks 3 days or 5 weeks 5 days. There were no signs of bleeding that explain the discharge but there weren’t with Bella’s pregnancy either. So I just have to hope we are repeating how things went with Bella (minus the preterm labor).

So the plan now is to wait another two weeks for our follow up scan, the Monday following our return from vacation. I’m hoping for some strong symptoms to set in and put my mind at ease over the next two weeks.

It’s a brief sigh of relief but of course I wish we had seen a fetal pole. Let’s just hope and pray it is there with a heartbeat in two weeks.

5 thoughts on “IUP

  1. If it’s any consolation, with my first (and successful) pregnancy, they did not see a fetal pole at my five week scan–just a sac like yours. The six week scan showed a perfect heartbeat and the rest is history. Try not to worry! I know it is so hard. When I get worried, I repeat to myself, “Joy is now” over and over again. It reminds me to be present in the moment and to feel joy over what is going on right this second. It works…sometimes? Haha. Anyway, congrats to you!

    • I love that. I wish I could feel good about what we saw today but its such a mixed bag. I feel good but my anxiety has not gone away. I just need a few more ultrasounds with good news.

Leave a Reply

