RE Recap

Today was my much-anticipated appointment with the RE, Dr. P. Thankfully, a friend had warned me that he wasn’t very warm and fuzzy. She was spot on. There was no “sorry for your loss” or “we’ll get through this” or anything of the sort. It was just question after question after question going over my history and family history.

I was disappointed to learn that there would be no testing today. He said that the main thing is to wait for the cytogenetics to come back from the fetal tissue, which will take another 2-3 weeks. At that point, depending on the results, we’ll decide if I’ll do all of the testing. If we do go forward with testing, it would be as soon as my period returns. With my first miscarriage and the d&c, it took 39 days to return. With the misoprostol it took 57 days to return. So hopefully with another d&c we are on the earlier end this time around. Patience is definitely not a virtue of mine!

The doctor was able to make a few helpful statements given my history of losses. He said because I saw a heartbeat with all 3 losses we could rule out hormonal issues (thyroid, progesterone, etc.).

He said if they find a reason it is likely going to fall into 3 categories: chromosomal, structural, or blood clotting.

The cytogenetics should tell us if the baby was chromosomally normal or abnormal. If it is chromosomally abnormal, it is up to us whether or not we want the blood workup on me. He said he’d probably tell us to just try again. Although when Lance asked what the odds were of 3 chromosomally abnormal babies from a woman my age (losses between 29-31), he said very low. So I think that we will be pushing for the full testing no matter the result.

So basically that is it. We are now in a waiting game. I have a follow-up appointment with my OB in one week and I may ask her to test my HCG just to get an idea of how slow/fast it is falling.

I’m trying to wrap my head around the idea that this doctor is just not going to be enjoyable to work with. It is disappointing because some of the OBs have been wonderful and compassionate, and its hard to backtrack to someone who should probably just stay in a lab. But if he knows his stuff, I guess I’ll just have to learn to deal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

