Recapping Thanksgiving

As I alluded to, Bella and I had an extended Thanksgiving trip. I had some business in the DC suburbs and went straight from there to Pennsylvania with Bella, with Lance meeting us up there on Tuesday night.

I still have all of my family and a lot of friends up that way, so it is always nice to get more than a few days to visit. Although, now it is all about everyone getting a chance to spend time with Bella. Not sure anyone really cares about seeing me anymore ;-).

Mom-Mom took Bella for her first shopping cart ride

Mom-Mom took Bella for her first shopping cart ride

Bella and I were able to meet up with my friends Kate and Joe, and their little boy Nolan. A lot has changed since we spent Memorial Day weekend together at the Outer Banks! It was fun watching her actually “play” with another child. Nolan was very good at sharing his toys and Bella happily hung out at his activity table practicing her standing skills!

Bella and Nolan are growing up!

Bella and Nolan are growing up!

Practicing standing was a theme for the week. Bella loves stretching her legs out now, although she still hasn’t quite figured out how to pull up. She can get up on her knees, just can’t figure out how to get up from there.

i love to stand!

i love to stand!

Bella had a pretty bad cold to start off the trip, and I woke up with strep throat on Wednesday morning. Not fun. Thankfully after a quick trip to urgent care, I was feeling better by later that day and 100% better a few days later.

We were able to spend time with six of Bella’s eight grandparents, and she sure loved all of the attention.

On Thursday, we attended Thanksgiving dinner at my mom’s house. The night was really nice with my Aunt and Uncle, two cousins, and Lance’s parents joining us.

Lance has mastered turkey cooking and slicing

Lance has mastered turkey cooking and slicing

Bella ate turkey and sweet potato as her first Thanksgiving meal

Bella ate turkey and sweet potato as her first Thanksgiving meal

Bella’s first Thanksgiving meal consisted of turkey and sweet potato. She was a happy girl. I think she would have eaten way more turkey had we given it to her!

the Thanksgiving crew

the Thanksgiving crew…notice Bella at the head of the table

too much food

too much food

Bella's first Thanksgiving

Bella’s first Thanksgiving

early birthday celebration for me

early birthday celebration for me

Just as we’ve done since I was little, there was some cake for me to celebrate my birthday a week early. After Bella went to bed, it was nice to just spend some time with the family relaxing!

"Uncle" Ben and Titan had similar responses to the turkey

“Uncle” Ben and Titan had similar responses to the turkey

On Friday, we went to my dad’s house for a Hanukkah party. It feels like it has been a while since Hanukkah was this early, so it was a great excuse to get to see the extended family on my dad’s side.

lighting the menorah

lighting the menorah

There were four kids at the party – Bella, her cousin Evelyn, and the children of my cousin Francine. By next year Bella will really be able to enjoy playing with everyone!

girl play time with Tess and Evelyn

Tess helping Bella and Evelyn open their presents

IMG_8750

IMG_8719

happy family!

happy family!

the whole party crew

the whole party crew

On our last night in Pennsylvania, Lance and I decided to take advantage of the babysitters and head out to an early birthday dinner for me after Bella went to bed. We went to the White Dog Cafe and really enjoyed our meal and our time out together.

birthday dinner date night

birthday dinner date night

The trip home went almost perfect. We left around 6:15 am on Sunday morning and would have beaten all traffic if not for an accident in Richmond that cost us around 45 minutes. Bella slept for much of the trip and during awake times, managed to entertain herself with some toys.

We loved getting to spend time with our families, catch up with a few friends, and enjoy the time together away from work.

Leave a Reply

