My first night away

Last week I spent my first night away from Bella. On my first day back to work, my boss asked if there was anyway I could take a one night trip to Louisville for a conference that we attend annually. He was unable to go, and he really wanted at least one of us to be there. While I wasn’t thrilled about arranging for my first work trip with just three weeks notice, Lance and I were able to work it out. I left early Wednesday morning and was home  by 6:00 pm Thursday, so I was gone for right at 36 hours.

Since Bella is exclusively breastfed, the hardest part of the trip (besides not getting to snuggle with my squishy baby girl), was planning out where and when I was going to pump between 4 flights and conference sessions. I had previously pumped on the road for my one-day work trip in March, but this was a bigger challenge.

For anyone who needs to pump at an airport, here are my findings thus far:

– Boston Logan: No special facilities. Family restrooms have an outlet, but you have to be prepared to stand.

– Charlotte Douglas: No special facilities. Family restrooms have an outlet, but you have to be prepared to stand.

– Louisville: No special facilities. Family restrooms have a comfy chair and an outlet! Score!

Thankfully the Convention Center also had a lactation area in the women’s restroom, so other than the annoyance of lugging a pump around between sessions, it was nice to not have to run back and forth to my hotel room. My hotel also provided a fridge so that I could keep my milk cold and I was able to stick the little freezer pack in the freezer shelf to get it frozen for my travel time home.

We also had to defrost frozen milk for the first time, which was a new challenge in of itself. Bella doesn’t seem to be a fan of thawed milk, although I was told it got better as she had more bottles.

I’m just happy that we all survived my first night away. I’m hoping in the future that with more notice of work travel, Lance and Bella can accompany me on trips and make things a lot easier for all of us!

 

Leave a Reply

