Two Months Old

I realize this is a day late, but I was actually traveling all day yesterday! More on that later.

2 months

But, yesterday, Bella turned two months old! Our little newborn isn’t really a newborn anymore. Here are a few highlights from her second month of life.

Bella 5-8

AWARENESS: Bella is becoming increasingly aware of everything around her. She makes more eye contact and notices who is holding her. She definitely knows the difference between mommy and daddy now.

learning to smile!

learning to smile!

SMILES: Her first smile came a few weeks back, and while she still doesn’t smile a ton, we can definitely get her to smile at us a few times a day. The most unexpected smiles? The middle of the night smile I get while changing her diaper. She used to scream bloody murder when I changed her. Now, she’ll look up at me and give me a sleepy little grin.

HIPS: I think I mentioned previously that it is standard at our hospital to screen all breech babies for hip displaysia. Her pediatrician has been especially concerned with Bella because with the four risk factors for having hip displaysia, she meets every one: first born, female, breech, and genetics (her mom mom had it with a resulting four hip replacements). She had her first ultrasound a few weeks back, and we found out that her left hip had a borderline measurement. To take precaution, we go back for a second ultrasound this week, and if she has another borderline measurement she’ll be referred to a pediatric orthopedist who can determine if she needs treatment. We certainly want to err on the side of caution here, because if it is caught early, it can be treated without surgery.

morning naps in the swing

morning naps in the swing

DAY TO DAY: Our week days have settled into a pretty nice routine. She wakes for the day around 7 or 8. She’ll usually take a short morning nap in her swing, and a longer late afternoon nap on my chest. In between, she eats, we run errands, and we go for walks on nice days. She is awake much more of the day now, and a trip in her car seat or stroller is no longer a guaranteed sleeping time. On the weekends, her daddy holds her as much as possible and we run errands as a family.

sleeping great in her crib

sleeping great in her crib

SLEEPING: Sleep continues to go pretty well. We’ve started an evening routine of nursing, a bath (every 3 days), and some cuddling, and then laying her in her crib to sleep betwen 7:30 and 8:00. Just yesterday, we stopped swaddling her and switched to the sleep sack since we noticed that her startle reflex is gone. She didn’t mind the sleep sack and slept the same as usual. Usual = a nice long stretch to start the night. She usually wakes up somewhere between 2-4 am. We had one amazing night where she slept straight until 5, and a couple nights where she awoke closer to 1. She then usually sleeps for another 3 hours, so depending on what time that first wake up is, I’m getting up either once or twice a night to feed her. I’m obviously pretty happy about this, and while I’m still not getting more than 4-5 hours of sleep straight, its definitely better than only getting 2-3 hours straight.

AWAY FROM MOMMY: In Bella’s first month of life, she was barely ever separated from me. This month, I was cleared by my OB to return to exercise, so I’ve been trying to go to the gym a few times a week – leaving her alone with Lance for an hour or so at a time. Then, this week, a work situation came up that gave us the opportunity to test a longer period of time. Even though I’m on maternity leave until April 1, my boss asked if I could do him a favor and take a day trip to Boston yesterday. I talked it over with Lance, and he thought it would be a good idea for me to get a day away and for him to get alone time with Bella. So I said yes, and our first big is-she-ready-for-daycare test began. She woke up at 4:30 in the morning, and I had to leave at 5:45 to catch my flight, so needless to say it was a very long day for me. I finally got home around 9:15 pm. We prepared four 3 ounce bottles for her that Lance could feed, and planned that I would nurse her before I left and after I got home (even though I returned after her bed time). Well, according to Lance she cried much of the day and didn’t sleep very much. She took her bottles, but fussed after two ounces with each one. Since she rarely gets bottle fed, we were just taking a guess as to how much she’d actually want to eat with a feeding. He said that she ended up taking three ounces, but that she did not gulp that much straight. When I got home, I tried to wake her to nurse, but she was so out that she refused to wake up! This trip also gave me practice in pumping all day. I ended up pumping twice at Boston airport and twice at work. To my surprise, the airport didn’t have any sort of lactation room. I thought for sure a large airport like that would have somewhere for mother’s to nurse their babies (and I could use that space to pump), but when I asked I was told to just use the family restrooms. So I pumped standing up in a bathroom, but I guess you gotta do what you gotta do. Lesson learned. It went fine and I pumped more than she ate, so all in all it was a success.

SPEAKING: Bella is starting to make happy sounds. The one she makes most often is “guh”. Kind of like “duh” with a G sound. Its nice to hear something other than crying from her and this has been a development within the past week to ten days. I think it helps that she now has happy awake time rather that her previous days of either crying, eating, or sleeping.

this has nothing to do with anything...just too cute to not include!

this has nothing to do with anything…just too cute to not include!

So there you have it. Our little girl is two months old! I wonder what new things March will bring.

2 thoughts on “Two Months Old

  1. I really enjoy reading the updates you post about your beautiful Bella. This is my 3rd pregnancy but first ‘take home baby’ (hopefully) so its great to read up on real experiences of the first few weeks and months so I can feel a little more prepared for the arrival of this little one! You’re doing a fantastic job, keep up the good work 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

