The day my heart broke

Today is Valentine’s Day. It also marks one year since at our 11 week appointment, we unexpectedly found out that our first pregnancy had ended in a miscarriage. I’ll never forget the way that I felt that day. Our appointment was first thing in the morning, and after calling work in tears saying that I wasn’t coming in, I returned home and got in bed and stayed there for the rest of the day. “This is it,” I thought. “I’ll never get over this and Valentine’s Day is ruined forever.”

Thankfully, about two and a half months later, I saw that second line and knew that just maybe my heart would be full again.

Lance and I have never been much for Valentine’s Day. We always go out for his birthday five days prior, so it has never been a priority for us. But this year, there is a ray of sunshine in our lives. A little rainbow after the storm that ensued one year ago. She has helped us love in a whole new way. So this February 14th, my heart is full of love and gratitude for my husband and baby girl, and I’m looking forward to making this a happy day from here on forward.

My valentine is learning how to smile!

My valentine is learning how to smile!

With that sweet face looking at me, how can I not?

Leave a Reply

