33 weeks

Size of Baby: Baby girl is now the size of a pineapple or a honeydew. i.e. She is getting big! She should weigh somewhere around 4 pounds.

Weight: I was +22 at today’s appointment. My growth seems right on track to be in that target range of a gain of 25-35.

Sleep: After a few nights with difficulty falling asleep and having trouble falling back asleep after my 6 am bathroom trip, I’ve had a few good nights of rest. Thankful to be able to go alarm-free for the next four days for Thanksgiving break!

Best Moment of the Week: The baby shower on Saturday was so amazing. It was wonderful to have so many family and friends visit and great to have my first real “social” opportunity in almost two months.

Movement: I can really feel and picture the shape of her body right now, although after today’s appointment, we aren’t sure if she is head up or head down. The nurse practitioner guessed head down, because she felt a round object that she thought was the butt on my upper right, but two weeks ago the doctor said that the round object up there was her head. She said at 35 weeks if it is unclear they will probably check. This morning was wonderful, though. I woke up about 15 minutes before my alarm and just laid there with my hand on me belly and felt her gently move around. I’m feeling way less in terms of hard kicks and way more just general movement.

Symptoms: I’m still battling the shortness of breath, heartburn, and reflux. I’m hoping that the third trimester insomnia that many face stays away and that the other symptoms ease when I come off of bed rest, since all three of those symptoms are made worse by lying flat.

Food Cravings/Aversions: No cravings to report this week.

Belly Button: Still in and wondering if it is going to stay that way.

What I Miss: This is the first time in close to ten years that I haven’t gone to Philly for Thanksgiving. This is usually a really nice time when I get to see all of my extended family and visit with friends that I only get to see once or twice a year, so it is hard to have to lay here. Both of our parents came to town, so it’ll still feel like Thanksgiving, but I hate to miss out on seeing all of my aunts and uncles and cousins and my grandpa. The only good part? Not battling the insane traffic!

What I Am Looking Forward To: Besides the few days off of work and time with our families upcoming the next few days, I am super excited to announce that I am officially being released to “modified” bed rest at 34 weeks! At that point I’m allowed to sit up for part of the day and can spend a minimal amount of time up and about around the house. I still won’t be allowed to cook or do housework or lift anything, but it’s progress. Then, at my 35 week appointment I’ll find out if I’m fully released from bed rest on that day, or at 36 weeks. The NP today made it seem like 36 weeks would be the latest that I’d be on any sort of bed rest. Between that great news and the slowly-sinking-in realization that we’ll be meeting our little girl in the next 7 weeks, I have a lot to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

