32 weeks

32 weeks. Unbelievable. This day seemed so far away when I was sitting in the hospital and the doctor told me that her first goal for me was 28 weeks and the second was 32. I’m no longer super nervous about an early arrival for baby girl, and if she can hold on for another two weeks, then I’ll really start to breathe easy.

Size of Baby: Baby girl is the size of a squash! She is somewhere around 4 lbs and should measure around 18 inches. At this point, she is almost her full height, and she should be gaining around 1/2 pound a week from here on out.

Weight: I finally had my first bed rest growth spurt. At my doctor’s appointment last week I was +21. My belly really seems to be growing now so I’m glad to hear that I’m back to gaining!

Sleep: My night time anxiety is starting to fade. I guess because if I go into labor now, while she’d still have a NICU stay ahead of her, hopefully we are past the point of super serious problems. I’m trying to sleep 8-9 hours a night, but because of my lack of activity, I don’t need naps during the day.

Best Moment of the Week: At our doctor’s appointment last week, we were told that if I make it to 34 weeks, we can start modifying my bed rest. While he didn’t really define what that meant, I’m hoping it means that I can start showering daily and sitting up some, and maybe even adding in a little bit of time on my feet! It’s great to have the finish line in sight!

Movement: Baby girl is super active. It’s now a given that I’ll feel strong movement in the mornings before I get out of bed. I love putting my hand on my belly and feeling her move around.

Symptoms: The worst thing right now is the shortness of breath. I have at least one bout a day that is truly painful and since I can’t sit up to expand my lungs, it is even worse. The heartburn has also continued and I’ve added in some bleeding gums. I’m starting to understand why women get so anxious towards the end.

Food Cravings/Aversions: I’ve still had a very minimal amount of actual cravings. I am starving all the time now, but I’m pretty much happy with anything that finds its way into my belly.

Belly Button: I think it is getting closer to popping out but definitely still in.

What I Miss: I really just want to run my own errands. And go baby shopping. Maybe in 3-4 weeks?

What I Am Looking Forward To: Getting to see my family and friends this weekend!!! I’ve had lots of friends come and visit me individually since I’ve been on bed rest, but I’ve almost missed multiple parties, girls night, etc. I’m so excited that this weekend a social event comes to me! I’m surprised and honored by the number of friends and family making the trip from out of town. If baby girl can just hang on for three more days I should be back with a great update from the shower coming up soon!

One thought on “32 weeks

Leave a Reply

