Doctor’s office update

After 15 days without fresh air and sunshine, I woke up to a perfect fall day for my doctor’s office field trip. Lance was even able to take the day off and come with me. I had been looking forward to the appointment since it was with the doctor who admitted me to the hospital 5 weeks ago! He had a big smile on his face as he walked into the room, pleased with how successful bed rest has been at keeping baby girl in. I didn’t get an ultrasound – just a fundal height check (31.5 cm) which was “excellent” and a heart rate check with the doppler (in the 150s). The doctor says that he feels confident that bed rest will keep her in, and that once I reach the 34 week point, the prognosis for baby girl is good enough that they won’t stop labor. He also said that at 34 weeks I could start gradually adding some activity and building up towards coming off of bed rest. Really exciting news considering it is only 20 days away. The only downer is that baby girl is still breech. She still has plenty of time to turn, but he was able to feel around and felt her head up on my upper right and her butt right up against my cervix. My feeling is to wait until we get to 34 and then start worrying about the breech thing…maybe once I’m able to be up and about she’ll have a better opportunity to flip.

So all in all, it was a good trip. I’m glad I was able to get out of the house for a little while and that the doctor was so optimistic!

Leave a Reply

