31 weeks

This week has seriously flown by. Which is great considering I haven’t left the house and haven’t done much of anything. I’m so thankful that for the most part I’ve been able to maintain my sanity in my almost 5 weeks of bed rest. I hope I’m not jinxing things as I’ve read that the days go slower towards the end.

Size of Baby: Our little one is the size of  pineapple! She should measure 16-18 inches and is now over three pounds. From here on out she should be gaining close to half a pound  a week – so it is clearly evident how big of a difference every week makes at this point!

Weight: I go to the doctor tomorrow morning so I’ll know my weight then. I feel like my belly has really expanded in the past week so I would expect it to be up at least a pound or two. I can’t see my toes anymore without peaking around :-).

Sleep: I’m still having trouble falling asleep on most nights. I experience anxiety at bed time when I feel like she is going to come any moment. Thankfully, thus far I fall asleep and wake up with her right where she is supposed to be.

Best Moment of the Week: Monday was our third first-dateiversary as we like to call it, i.e. the third anniversary of our first date. We celebrated by eating pizza (it was at a restaurant on our first date…but their food isn’t very good so we ordered from somewhere else) and watching the same episode of Grey’s Anatomy that we watched that night. Lance also surprised me with a dozen roses. I’m a lucky girl!

Movement: Baby girl is getting stronger and stronger and her really low kicks are not very comfortable. In fact, they’re so low it feels like she is trying to kick her way out. I’m glad that she is getting stronger and thankful that I can feel her kicks, but I’m hoping in the next few weeks she turns head down and that I can experience rib kicks instead.

Symptoms: The heartburn and reflux have continued and are not very fun. I’m also just starting to feel heavy. I don’t walk very far but I think I’d notice even more if I was active. All in all, things aren’t too bad at the moment but these things will probably only get worse as we go.

Food Cravings/Aversions: Yep, I got my peppermint chocolate chip milkshake yesterday from Chick Fil A. Made me so happy until I realized how full I was. For the most part I’ve been lucky enough to avoid any overwhelming cravings, although my sweet tooth has not been helped by all of the cookies and brownies that have been delivered recently. They go really good with my nightly glass of milk!

Belly Button: Same as before. On it’s way out but not there.

What I Miss: It’s becoming more conceivable to me that I may make it long enough to get released from bed rest. I’m day dreaming of a trip to get my hair done and get that overdue pedicure. If things look good at my appointment tomorrow I am going to ask the doctor if I could potentially be released at 35 or 36 weeks. That’ll give me a great goal to shoot for.

What I Am Looking Forward To: I’m scared to say this because I really don’t want to jinx it, but my baby shower. After all that happened I didn’t think I’d get to have one. And while I’m still bummed that I can’t have the traditional shower that was being planned with friends and family in Philly, I’m really looking forward to the more intimate home shower being planned for next weekend. I’m so excited for the friends and family that have let me know that they plan on making the trip down from the mid-atlantic, and just cross my fingers every day that I’m still laying here with a baby in my belly 10 days from now.

Leave a Reply

