I’m dynamic!

It’s not a complement in this situation. My cervix is still dynamic and funneling, however, it was not measuring any smaller than last week. A dynamic cervix means that the measurement fluctuates during the ultrasound. In a normal pregnancy, a cervix would measure a flat 3.5 cm (for example). During mine, the cervix went from 1.1 to 2 something while she was measuring. We could just sit there and watch it fluctuate and funnel.

Luckily, I’m still totally closed and baby is still breech. As long as I don’t start to contract again, I can hopefully hold her in a while longer. They took some measurements and she is measuring right at 27 weeks 1 day and her weight estimate is 2 lbs 6 oz. Definitely reassuring that she is still growing, especially since my weight was the same today as it was 4 weeks ago. I was told that I will probably not gain much from here on out as the muscle loss will likely balance the baby gain. I also had my one hour glucose tolerance test today to test for gestational diabetes. I chugged a few ounces of the orange stuff and had my blood drawn before the appointment. Really hoping that I pass so that I don’t have to take the three hour test. Me and three blood draws in one day does not sound like a fun time.

20121011-203050.jpg

Arm and foot are up by her face!

All in all, I considered the appointment a success since I wasn’t looking worse and didn’t get shipped to the hospital. I’ll come back in 2 weeks for a follow-up.

Not only did I get to leave the house for the car ride to the appointment today, I was also able to see people besides Lance for the first time all week. My friend Dana and her sweet two month old accompanied me to the appointment. Then, this afternoon, my friend Lindsay and her happy seven month old came to hang out for a little while and bought me a delicious slice of chocolate cake. Yum. And just a little while ago, our friends John and Bethany stopped by with some stuffed shells that we will have for dinner tomorrow.

I’m very thankful for all of the kind words, phone calls, and visitors that have been pouring in. It makes me feel a little less cut off from the outside world!

 

Leave a Reply

