27 weeks

It’s amazing how things change in one week. I had been lulled into a slumber after the first trimester where the weekly milestones became less interesting. Now, every day, every week, is a huge step forward.

Size of Baby: Baby is now the size of a head of cauliflower. I may actually get an estimate of her weight at the ultrasound tomorrow.

Weight: +16 as of my last appointment. Suddenly every ounce that I gain and she gains are critical. My appetite has been decreased the past few days but today I’m starving. I’ll be welcoming every pound at this point!

Sleep: The first few nights in the hospital were difficult, but surprisingly, I’ve slept really well the past two nights. I was worried that the decreased activity would make it harder to sleep but I guess I was so exhausted from the stress that my body was happy to hit the bed.

Best Moment of the Week: Hard to find a good moment in such a stressful week, but getting discharged from the hospital with a closed cervix was probably the highlight. Now, I’m thankful for each and every day that she stays cozied up inside of me.

Movement: I’ve been feeling a lot of movement which is good. Now that I know she is breech I ca identify the low movements as kicks!

Symptoms: The most physically difficult thing for me right now is the leg aching, which is already in full swing after only 5 days of bed rest. Thankfully I’m getting a nice leg massage each night!

Food Cravings/Aversions: Lance made my day by going out and getting me some fro yo last night. It tasted soooo good and although I’ll miss making my own trips to the shop I’m glad they have takeout containers.

Belly Button: In.

What I Miss: I wish I could go back to the ignorant second trimester bliss I was in just a week ago. I never saw any of this coming, and assumed after I made it through the first trimester the difficulties and fearful moments were done with.

What I Am Looking Forward To: I made my first bed rest internet purchases today. I ordered knitting needles and a ball of yarn. Stop laughing. I love the idea of knitting a cute little hat for our little girl, and figure knitting is the perfect activity if I’m going to be laid up for a while. After conquering the sewing machine earlier this summer, I might as well extend my craftiness challenge. Stay tuned for the potentially very humorous results.

Leave a Reply

