We’re Home!

Another night down with baby girl still inside where she belongs. 10 more sleeps until I’m 28 weeks…

I had another great night of hospital sleep last night. We stayed up late to watch the end of the Florida State/NC State game (Lance was not too pleased with the ending), and then I slept pretty much straight until 6 am when the nurse came in to check my vitals and the baby. Then I fell back asleep for another hour until the useless OB resident came through and asked a few questions on his rounds. Didn’t really find any use in talking to him since my doctor would be in later in the morning and all decisions are being left to her and the rest of the practice, not some random resident!

Luckily, the doctor came in around 10:30 am and the three of us pow-wowed for about 15 minutes trying to decide what to do with me. She said that her worry with keeping me another day was that if the ultrasound tomorrow indicated that my cervix was thinning further, they’d have a hard time sending me home and that I’d probably end up on hospital bed rest for the duration. We decided that she’d check my cervix and if it was closed, I’d go home today with a follow-up ultrasound at the office later this week. Luckily, it was totally closed and she couldn’t feel anything protruding so discharge papers were signed and I was on my way home within the hour.

I’ve now been home for about 3 hours and we’re trying to figure out the best way to settle me in. We put a sheet on the chaise lounge in the living room with a blanket and some pillows and figure I can spend my days here so that I’m not in bed all day. Definitely benefitting from having a small one story house right now! Our big cooler is to my side since its the right height to make a good bedside table for the laptops (personal and work), a cup of water, and books. I’ve been really tired today but am trying to keep a normal schedule so that I can sleep well at night. Lance is on his way out to pick me up a library book and some groceries for the week. This is probably going to be as hard on him as it is on me, since he’ll now have to take care of everything for the house, plus cook and wait on me each day when he gets home from work.

As hard as long term bed rest will be, I’m just hoping more than anything that this gets to be long term, since that will mean she gets as much time as possible to grow and develop.

Leave a Reply

