22 weeks

hey look…a bump!

Size of Baby: Baby girl is 11-12 inches long and almost a pound. She is the size of a spaghetti squash!

Weight: Yeah I still haven’t stepped on a scale. I prefer to weigh first thing in the morning and I always forget until after I’ve drank a full glass of water and eaten breakfast.

Sleep: Sleep remains consistently good with waking about 2 times a night to use the bathroom. I generally fall asleep within a few minutes of my head hitting the pillow!

Best Moment of the Week: Feeling the strong kicks letting me know that baby girl is ok and having people start to recognize that I’m pregnant without me telling them. I love the reassurance that she is growing as she should!

Movement: Increasing movement for sure. I’m now pretty much guaranteed to feel her kicking when I lay down for bed.

Symptoms: My newest major symptom is shortness of breath. For about 15-20 minutes at a time, my lungs basically feel like they can’t expand all the way and sometimes that also causes my heart rate to rise. I’ve been told it isn’t a concern and that it can be normal due to pressure on my diaphragm. However, I think I hate this feeling more than morning sickness. It is really frustrating to feel like you can’t breathe. The crazy thing is that my “increased” heart rates are still only in the 80s. Since my resting heart rate is typically in the low 60s, the 80s feels extremely high to me, but doctors don’t get concerned unless it rises over 100!

Food Cravings/Aversions: I think I’m pretty much done with aversions (knock on wood). We still haven’t tried stir fry since the first trimester, but for the most part, I feel like I can eat anything that I normally would. Cravings are still few and far between and I haven’t had any this week.

Belly Button: In. It doesn’t even feel close to popping out. Does that happen suddenly, or does it gradually push further out?

What I Miss: I wanted a diet soda for the first time in a really long time today while waiting for my car to get serviced at the dealership. I gave up soda just before getting pregnant for the second time, not really for pregnancy, just because I’d read enough bad things about soda. I stayed strong, and know I’m better off without it, but I definitely had a staring contest with the vending machine as I sat there for an hour plus.

What I Am Looking Forward To: Continuing to decorate baby girl’s nursery! We added our first touches of pink this week (post and pictures to come) and it has me really excited to keep going. In a few weeks we’ll move the desk and office stuff out of the room and then it’ll really start to feel like her room!

Leave a Reply

