18 weeks

Size of Baby: Baby is the size of a bell pepper or a sweet potato. We’re also getting into some measurements I can really understand now. Baby R is 5.5 inches long and weighs 5-7 ounces. That’s almost half a pound!

Weight: I’m +10 on the home scale. Probably a little too high, although the weights tend to be lower at the doctor’s office. The crazy thing is I’m not really eating much more, so I’d guess part of the gain (if it isn’t all direct baby relation) is from burning way fewer calories from exercise.

Sleep: I’d been on a streak of only waking up once a night that was busted with a 3-timer last night. Should not have chugged 20 oz of water at 10 pm.

Best Moment of the Week: Today’s mini-milestone of 18 weeks. I think because I’ve been counting the days to 18 weeks for so long due to the anatomy scan. I hope that the best moment is eclipsed by fantastic news tomorrow.

Movement: I’m pretty sure that what I’m feeling is baby movement. I’ve noticed it seems to increase when I lean forward. Still nothing super regular or definitive, but I’m at the point where I’m pretty confident Baby R is kicking and punching away!

Symptoms: Newest super noticeable symptom- extreme thirst. I have started craving water late at night which is tough because I obviously don’t want to be waking up all night. Other than that, just some fatigue and an occasionally achy back.

Food Cravings/Aversions: Still haven’t had too many cravings. Occasionally I have trouble eating chicken, it just depends how chickeny it tastes.

Belly Button: In.

What I Miss: Steady sleep. I’ve had butterflies for the past two nights (its like my body thinks the big appointment is happening when I wake up) which have had me waking up several times throughout the night.

What I Am Looking Forward To: Hoping more than anything for news of a healthy baby tomorrow morning, and if we are lucky, learning that we can begin to refer to Baby R as “he” or “she”. If that all goes well, looking forward to revealing the gender to all of you tomorrow evening!

Leave a Reply

