16 weeks

I can’t believe that I’ve hit 16 weeks. For some reason, in my head this number has seemed like such a milestone. I feel so grateful to be getting to the point where I can actually be excited without the nagging fear.

Size of Baby: Baby is the size of an avocado

Weight: No weigh ins this week…my scale at home seems to be off from the one at the doctor so I need to start checking at home and comparing against that rather than comparing home weight to doctor’s office weight

Sleep: Last night I went from 1 am – 6 am without waking up. I’ll take this for as long as I can get it!

Best Moment of the Week: Not really a moment, but our entire day on Saturday was perfect. Lance and I got to spend the whole day together. We played golf (just 9 holes, and he carried my bag) together for the first time since I got pregnant, went to lunch at our favorite spot (Anna’s Pizza), relaxed for a few hours at home, and then met Lance’s grandparents, aunt, uncle, and cousin for dinner where we were able to tell them about Baby R in person. Lance had actually called his grandfather to tell him last week, but on the call found out that they were coming down to visit, so he was able to hold off on the phone and tell them in person. Perfect timing!

Movement: I’m not 100% certain, but I think I started feeling movement the past few days! I thought I felt some little flutters a few days ago, and then last night while watching tv I am almost certain I was feeling the baby. It was only occasional, but it felt like a little rolling motion. It was too high up to be gas, so I can only imagine it was Baby R finally making his/her presence felt!

Symptoms: My nausea is essentially gone. Finally. I love being able to drive home from work without getting dizzy, and I’ve been able to start going back to the gym since I’m no longer at my sickest during my normal gym time. The only main symptom now is the occasional bloody nose, overdrive emotions (I started bawling on Sunday for no real reason), and tiredness if I’m on my feet for too long.

Food Cravings/Aversions: I had my first major craving the other day. During my crying-for-no-reason breakdown on Sunday I started really craving a milkshake. Definitely not the healthiest craving in the world. I ended up with my first Wendy’s frosty in probably at least three years. Hopefully that craving doesn’t hit again!

Belly Button: In.

What I Miss: I’ve been thinking about this for a few minutes and I honestly can’t come up with anything. Hello second trimester bliss. You are awesome.

What I Am Looking Forward To: Visiting two more daycares next week and then hopefully arriving at an early decision. Finding out the gender and seeing Baby R in 15 days (not that I’m counting).

Leave a Reply

