14 weeks (i.e. the start of the second trimester according to 50% of people)

Size of Baby: Baby is the size of a lemon (isn’t a lemon smaller than a peach? I must buy big peaches)

Weight: I am starting to feel big, although it still doesn’t really look like a bump

Sleep: Pattern has been staying the same with waking up 3 times a night.

Best Moment of the Week: Finding out the results of the bloodwork from our first trimester screening. Baby R has a greater than 1 in 10,000 chance of Down’s Syndrome, Trisomy 13 and Trisomy 18. Second best, looking into the empty closet in the future nursery after a few days of work purging and organizing.

Movement: Baby must be on the move but I can’t feel it. I know though because the doppler can only find the heartbeat for a few seconds at a time before baby rolls away!

Symptoms: Oh my goodness. So much for second trimester relief. I just puked up my entire lunch and then had a bunch of blood fall out of my nose and onto the bathroom floor. On Monday, I opened up a package from my sweet friend Jen (a boppy pillow to help me sleep!) and immediately started crying at her thoughtfulness. The crying was interrupted after about 15 seconds when I felt the sudden urge to vomit. This was my first time puking at a time other than 11 am – 1 pm. The nausea was spurred on my drive home from work by of all things, an ant crawling on my windshield as I drove. Something about the motion just got to me. So anyway, now here I am at 14 weeks, and for the third straight week find myself saying, “maybe this is the last week of nausea!” I’ve also started getting these really sharp stabbing pains in the middle of my pelvis which may be round ligament pain? Not really sure but the pain is excruciating at times and totally absent at others.

Food Cravings/Aversions: Still having trouble with food that isn’t carbs or fruit, although I have managed to eat some chicken lately (in a salad and in pasta…I guess its easier when it is mixed in with something). Main aversion is definitely vegetables.

Belly Button: In.

What I Miss: Temperatures below 90 degrees! Hard to walk or do any sort of outdoor activity right now. Cleaning out the garage was brutal and we had to do it in short segments because of the heat. Supposedly we are in for temps in the upper 80s/low 90s for the next week which at this point, I’ll take.

What I Am Looking Forward To: Making it 3 weeks without visiting a doctor (hopefully) if I can make it until next Wednesday without any emergencies. And as bad as this is, I’m seriously already looking forward to fall. Bring on the cooler temps and football season!

Leave a Reply

