9 weeks

Size of Baby: Grape/Green Olive/Strawberry…I’ve seen all three used to describe week 9

Weight: I was up one lb at my appointment last week…don’t feel like I’ve gained much more since then

Sleep: I’m exhausted, and have had to wake up early for work twice already this week. I’m at the point where I wake up tired even after 8.5 hours in bed (with a few pee breaks). Hoping this is from the placenta growing great in there!

Best Moment of the Week: This is pretty easy, although I had to look it my calendar to make sure it was this week. Best moment was seeing our baby measuring perfectly with a strong heartbeat last Thursday. It provided some momentary relief from worry. We were even able to hear the heart beating away.

Movement: According to the week-by-week websites, baby starts moving around this week, even though I won’t be able to feel it for another 4-8 weeks.

Symptoms: Still a lot of nausea and dizziness. Which is fine by me. I’ll get worried when it lessens. Still a lot of bathroom trips. Some odd food aversions (gagged on corn the other day, which is our staple side dish with dinner). Last night I was also convinced I had a blood clot, as I developed pain in my calf that didn’t go away with flexing and noticed a vein had bulged. However, the pain was gone today so I’m hoping it wasn’t a clot and just from increased blood flow down there.

Food Cravings/Aversions: I don’t really have any aversions…some things just nauseate me when I am half way through eating them.

Belly Button: In.

What I Miss: My energy. I feel like it is totally gone. When I get home from work I don’t want to do much but lay around. Obviously I’ll totally trade a lack of energy for healthy baby/placenta development, but I’ll be happy if the second trimester brings some renewed vigor.

What I Am Looking Forward To: Our weekend trip to the Mast Farm Inn. We are using a wedding/birthday present to head to the mountains this weekend for some relaxation, hiking, and good food. It’s only two nights, but a nice getaway with Lance and mother nature should be refreshing.

Leave a Reply

